Linear Collider Forum

Home » General » General Questions » Class not found
Class not found [message #1748] Mon, 01 June 2009 12:43 Go to next message
bweinert
Hi I'm a undergraduate working for Professor Steve Manly at the University of Rochester. I tried running a few programs, including MuonReco, and I run into the error Class not found. The programs compile fine but they won't run. At first I thought that this was because I tried running programs that weren't drivers, but MuonReco is a driver. What does this mean, and how can I fix something like this? Thank you.

-Ben

• Attachment: MuonReco.java
    (Size: 10.37KB, Downloaded 746 times)
Re: Class not found [message #1749 is a reply to message #1748] Tue, 02 June 2009 00:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
jfstrube
Hi Ben,

I'm sorry, I'm not really sure what exactly you are doing.
Are you trying to execute that code in JAS3?

The reason why you encounter a class not found is that you have put the code into a subpackage. (See the first line in your code)
JAS3 doesn't know where to look for your code, if you don't explicitly tell it. You can do that in File->Load->Set Classpath

packages are directories in Java, so Jas will expect to find a .class file somewhere in org/lcsim/recon/muon.

If you just want to load the code into JAS3 and run it there, I would recommend removing the package statement at the top. If, on the other hand, you want to develop the code for inclusion in org.lcsim, the easiest way would be to follow
http://confluence.slac.stanford.edu/display/ilc/Creating+a+D river+using+Netbeans

Good luck.
Jan
Re: Class not found [message #1752 is a reply to message #1749] Tue, 02 June 2009 11:17 Go to previous messageGo to next message
bweinert
Hi, I commented out the top line and added all the import statements to get the program to compile. It compiles and it runs, but the loop terminates due to error early on in the program. It says: